OpenTable vs TouchBistro
OpenTable
Reservations, waitlist, and diner-discovery network for restaurants
Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.
TouchBistro
iPad-based restaurant POS with reservations and online ordering add-ons
From$69/mo
Point of SaleVerified Sep 25, 2026
How they differ
| Feature | OpenTable | TouchBistro |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Check price on vendor site | $69/moPoint of Sale |
| Free plan | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point of sale | — | |
| Reservations & waitlist | ||
| Online ordering | — | |
| Suits | restaurants | restaurants |
We don't have a verified price for both OpenTable and TouchBistro yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.
OpenTable
Strengths
- Large consumer diner network can bring in new guests beyond a restaurant's own site
- Mature, widely recognized reservations product with host-stand and waitlist tools
- Integrates with many existing POS systems
Drawbacks
- Pricing page was not reachable this session (connection blocked); plan pricing was not verified directly
- Per-cover or per-reservation fees on some plans can add up for high-volume restaurants
TouchBistro
Strengths
- Runs on familiar iPad hardware, which can lower up-front hardware cost
- Full POS feature set (tableside ordering, floor plan, staff management) included at the starting price, no feature gating
- Reservations and online ordering available as companion products in the same family
Drawbacks
- The starting price is for the core POS bundle only; reservations and online ordering are typically separate add-on products
- Best fit for table-service restaurants, less commonly used for quick-service
Frequently asked questions
What do OpenTable and TouchBistro have in common?
Both cover reservations & waitlist.
Which is cheaper, OpenTable or TouchBistro?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for OpenTable right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.