Boulevard vs Square
Boulevard
Booking, payments, and marketing built for salons, spas, and med spas
Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.
Square
Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services
From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026
How they differ
| Feature | Boulevard | Square |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Check price on vendor site | $0/moFree |
| Free plan | Not stated | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Invoicing & payments | — | |
| Patient & client reminders | — | |
| Online booking | — | |
| Point of sale | ||
| Suits | salons & spas | restaurants, salons & spas |
We don't have a verified price for both Boulevard and Square yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.
Boulevard
Strengths
- Purpose-built for appointment-based beauty and wellness businesses
- Strong multi-location reporting and client experience app
- Integrated payments reduce the need for a separate processor
Drawbacks
- Headline subscription pricing is not published; add-on features (like client document storage) are billed separately per location
- Aimed more at established multi-chair salons and med spas than solo operators
Square
Strengths
- Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
- Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
- Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features
Drawbacks
- Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
- Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume
Frequently asked questions
What do Boulevard and Square have in common?
Both cover point of sale.
Which is cheaper, Boulevard or Square?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Boulevard right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.