Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

FreshBooks vs Melio

FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026
Melio

Free ACH bill pay and vendor payments for small businesses

Check price on vendor site

How they differ

FeatureFreshBooksMelio
Entry price$23/moLiteCheck price on vendor site
Free planNot statedYes
Free trialYesNot stated
Invoicing & payments
Accounting & bookkeeping—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers

We don't have a verified price for both FreshBooks and Melio yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Melio

Strengths

  • Free ACH bank transfer payments to vendors
  • Syncs payment records into QuickBooks and Xero
  • Card payments available for vendors who don't accept ACH

Drawbacks

  • Exact plan names and tier pricing were unclear on the current pricing page
  • Card payments carry a processing fee on top of the free ACH option

Frequently asked questions

What do FreshBooks and Melio have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Which is cheaper, FreshBooks or Melio?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Melio right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.

Related comparisons