Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

BILL vs FreshBooks

BILL

Accounts payable, receivable, and spend management for small businesses

From$0/user/mo
Spend & ExpenseVerified Sep 25, 2026
FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026

How they differ

FeatureBILLFreshBooks
Entry price$0/user/moSpend & Expense$23/moLite
Free planYesNot stated
Free trialNot statedYes
Invoicing & payments
Accounting & bookkeeping
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeBILL (Spend & Expense)FreshBooks (Lite)
$0$10$20$301361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

BILL

Strengths

  • Spend & Expense product carries no monthly subscription fee
  • Automates approval workflows for accounts payable and receivable
  • Syncs with QuickBooks Online and Xero rather than replacing them

Drawbacks

  • AP/AR per-user pricing adds up for a larger office staff
  • Enterprise-level AP/AR pricing is quote-only

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Frequently asked questions

What do BILL and FreshBooks have in common?
Both cover accounting & bookkeeping and invoicing & payments.
Is BILL cheaper than FreshBooks?
On entry plans for one user, BILL costs $0 a month and FreshBooks $23, so BILL is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons