Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

FreshBooks vs Housecall Pro

FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026
Housecall Pro

All-in-one scheduling, quoting, and invoicing for home service crews

Kitfinch pick for 4 jobs across 5 trades.

From$59/mo
BasicVerified Sep 24, 2026

How they differ

FeatureFreshBooksHousecall Pro
Entry price$23/moLite$59/moBasic
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialYesNot stated
Scheduling & dispatch—
Estimates & quotes—
Invoicing & payments
CRM & customer records—
Accounting & bookkeeping—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeFreshBooks (Lite)Housecall Pro (Basic)
$0$20$40$601361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Housecall Pro

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for home service trades with ready-made job templates
  • Combines dispatch, quoting, and payments in one mobile app
  • Strong online booking widget for the company website

Drawbacks

  • Add-ons like payroll and marketing raise the effective monthly cost
  • Per-user pricing on higher tiers adds up for larger crews

Frequently asked questions

What do FreshBooks and Housecall Pro have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Is FreshBooks cheaper than Housecall Pro?
On entry plans for one user, FreshBooks costs $23 a month and Housecall Pro $59, so FreshBooks is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons