Homebase vs Toast
Homebase
Team scheduling, time tracking, and payroll for hourly teams
From$30/mo
EssentialsVerified Sep 26, 2026
Toast
Restaurant point-of-sale platform with online ordering and staff tools
Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.
How they differ
| Feature | Homebase | Toast |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $30/moEssentials | Check price on vendor site |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated |
| Payroll | — | |
| Field team management | — | |
| Point of sale | — | |
| Online ordering | — | |
| Staff scheduling | ||
| Suits | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers | restaurants |
We don't have a verified price for both Homebase and Toast yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.
Homebase
Strengths
- Free plan covers a single location with up to 10 employees
- Scheduling, time tracking, and payroll add-on live in one app
- 14-day free trial of the top All-in-One plan
Drawbacks
- Paid plans are priced per location per month, which adds up for multi-location owners
- Payroll is a separate add-on with its own per-employee fee, not bundled into the base plans
Toast
Strengths
- Deep restaurant-specific POS feature set (menus, modifiers, kitchen display)
- Online ordering and payroll add-ons available inside the same ecosystem
- Wide adoption gives it a large support and integration network
Drawbacks
- Pricing page returned a bot-protection response this session; current plan pricing was not verified directly
- Hardware and processing costs are often bundled with software plans, complicating like-for-like comparisons
Frequently asked questions
What do Homebase and Toast have in common?
Both cover staff scheduling.
Which is cheaper, Homebase or Toast?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Toast right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.