Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

Housecall Pro vs ServiceM8

Housecall Pro

All-in-one scheduling, quoting, and invoicing for home service crews

Kitfinch pick for 4 jobs across 5 trades.

From$59/mo
BasicVerified Sep 24, 2026
ServiceM8

Lightweight job management app for small trades teams

From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 24, 2026

How they differ

FeatureHousecall ProServiceM8
Entry price$59/moBasic$0/moFree
Free planNot statedYes
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Scheduling & dispatch
Estimates & quotes—
Invoicing & payments
CRM & customer records—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeHousecall Pro (Basic)ServiceM8 (Free)
$0$20$40$601361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

Housecall Pro

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for home service trades with ready-made job templates
  • Combines dispatch, quoting, and payments in one mobile app
  • Strong online booking widget for the company website

Drawbacks

  • Add-ons like payroll and marketing raise the effective monthly cost
  • Per-user pricing on higher tiers adds up for larger crews

ServiceM8

Strengths

  • Free plan available for very low job volumes
  • Simple, uncluttered mobile app that's fast to learn
  • Flat plan pricing rather than per-user fees

Drawbacks

  • Fewer built-in marketing and CRM features than larger competitors
  • Job volume limits on lower tiers can force an upgrade quickly

Frequently asked questions

What do Housecall Pro and ServiceM8 have in common?
Both cover scheduling & dispatch and invoicing & payments.
Is Housecall Pro cheaper than ServiceM8?
On entry plans for one user, Housecall Pro costs $59 a month and ServiceM8 $0, so ServiceM8 is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons