Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

BILL vs QuickBooks Online

BILL

Accounts payable, receivable, and spend management for small businesses

From$0/user/mo
Spend & ExpenseVerified Sep 25, 2026
QuickBooks Online

The standard small business accounting software, with trades-friendly integrations

Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 5 trades.

From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 24, 2026

How they differ

FeatureBILLQuickBooks Online
Entry price$0/user/moSpend & Expense$0/moFree
Free planYesNot stated
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Invoicing & payments—
Accounting & bookkeeping
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeBILL (Spend & Expense)QuickBooks Online (Free)
$0$0.501361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

BILL

Strengths

  • Spend & Expense product carries no monthly subscription fee
  • Automates approval workflows for accounts payable and receivable
  • Syncs with QuickBooks Online and Xero rather than replacing them

Drawbacks

  • AP/AR per-user pricing adds up for a larger office staff
  • Enterprise-level AP/AR pricing is quote-only

QuickBooks Online

Strengths

  • Near-universal integration support from field service and payroll apps
  • Handles job costing and class tracking for multiple crews
  • Widely used by bookkeepers and accountants, easing tax-season handoff

Drawbacks

  • Promotional pricing jumps significantly after the first three months
  • Higher tiers needed for more detailed job costing and multiple users

Frequently asked questions

What do BILL and QuickBooks Online have in common?
Both cover accounting & bookkeeping.
Is BILL cheaper than QuickBooks Online?
On entry plans for one user, BILL costs $0 a month and QuickBooks Online $0. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons