Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

BILL vs Square

BILL

Accounts payable, receivable, and spend management for small businesses

From$0/user/mo
Spend & ExpenseVerified Sep 25, 2026
Square

Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services

From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026

How they differ

FeatureBILLSquare
Entry price$0/user/moSpend & Expense$0/moFree
Free planYesYes
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Invoicing & payments
Accounting & bookkeeping—
Point of sale—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersrestaurants, salons & spas
Monthly cost by team sizeBILL (Spend & Expense)Square (Free)
$0$0.501361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

BILL

Strengths

  • Spend & Expense product carries no monthly subscription fee
  • Automates approval workflows for accounts payable and receivable
  • Syncs with QuickBooks Online and Xero rather than replacing them

Drawbacks

  • AP/AR per-user pricing adds up for a larger office staff
  • Enterprise-level AP/AR pricing is quote-only

Square

Strengths

  • Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
  • Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
  • Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features

Drawbacks

  • Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
  • Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume

Frequently asked questions

What do BILL and Square have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Is BILL cheaper than Square?
On entry plans for one user, BILL costs $0 a month and Square $0. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons