Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

BILL vs Xero

BILL

Accounts payable, receivable, and spend management for small businesses

From$0/user/mo
Spend & ExpenseVerified Sep 25, 2026
Xero

Cloud accounting software with unlimited users on every plan

From$25/mo
EarlyVerified Sep 24, 2026

How they differ

FeatureBILLXero
Entry price$0/user/moSpend & Expense$25/moEarly
Free planYesNot stated
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Invoicing & payments—
Accounting & bookkeeping
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeBILL (Spend & Expense)Xero (Early)
$0$10$20$301361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

BILL

Strengths

  • Spend & Expense product carries no monthly subscription fee
  • Automates approval workflows for accounts payable and receivable
  • Syncs with QuickBooks Online and Xero rather than replacing them

Drawbacks

  • AP/AR per-user pricing adds up for a larger office staff
  • Enterprise-level AP/AR pricing is quote-only

Xero

Strengths

  • Unlimited users included on every plan, unlike per-user competitors
  • Clean, modern interface that bookkeepers frequently prefer
  • Strong bank reconciliation and multi-currency support

Drawbacks

  • Fewer built-in trades-specific integrations than QuickBooks Online
  • Some payroll features are limited by state availability

Frequently asked questions

What do BILL and Xero have in common?
Both cover accounting & bookkeeping.
Is BILL cheaper than Xero?
On entry plans for one user, BILL costs $0 a month and Xero $25, so BILL is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons