Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

FreshBooks vs Xero

FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026
Xero

Cloud accounting software with unlimited users on every plan

From$25/mo
EarlyVerified Sep 24, 2026

How they differ

FeatureFreshBooksXero
Entry price$23/moLite$25/moEarly
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialYesNot stated
Invoicing & payments—
Accounting & bookkeeping
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers
Monthly cost by team sizeFreshBooks (Lite)Xero (Early)
$0$10$20$301361015

Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Xero

Strengths

  • Unlimited users included on every plan, unlike per-user competitors
  • Clean, modern interface that bookkeepers frequently prefer
  • Strong bank reconciliation and multi-currency support

Drawbacks

  • Fewer built-in trades-specific integrations than QuickBooks Online
  • Some payroll features are limited by state availability

Frequently asked questions

What do FreshBooks and Xero have in common?
Both cover accounting & bookkeeping.
Is FreshBooks cheaper than Xero?
On entry plans for one user, FreshBooks costs $23 a month and Xero $25, so FreshBooks is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.

Related comparisons