Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

Dentrix Ascend vs Square

Dentrix Ascend

Cloud-based dental practice management

Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.

Check price on vendor site
Square

Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services

From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026

How they differ

FeatureDentrix AscendSquare
Entry priceCheck price on vendor site$0/moFree
Free planNot statedYes
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Invoicing & payments—
Patient & client reminders—
Point of sale
Suitsdentistsrestaurants, salons & spas

We don't have a verified price for both Dentrix Ascend and Square yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

Dentrix Ascend

Strengths

  • Cloud-based, so records and imaging are accessible from any location
  • Consolidates scheduling, billing, and analytics in one system

Drawbacks

  • No pricing page or published prices found
  • As a full practice-management system, it is a bigger switch than a single-purpose tool

Square

Strengths

  • Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
  • Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
  • Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features

Drawbacks

  • Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
  • Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume

Frequently asked questions

What do Dentrix Ascend and Square have in common?
Both cover point of sale.
Which is cheaper, Dentrix Ascend or Square?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Dentrix Ascend right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.

Related comparisons