Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

Dext vs FreshBooks

Dext

Receipt and expense capture that feeds straight into your books

Check price on vendor site
FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026

How they differ

FeatureDextFreshBooks
Entry priceCheck price on vendor site$23/moLite
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialNot statedYes
Invoicing & payments—
Accounting & bookkeeping
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers

We don't have a verified price for both Dext and FreshBooks yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

Dext

Strengths

  • Cuts manual receipt and bill entry for owners and bookkeepers
  • Syncs directly into QuickBooks Online and Xero
  • Mobile app makes capturing receipts from a truck fast

Drawbacks

  • Adds a second subscription on top of the core accounting platform
  • Full pricing details require checking current plan tiers on Dext's site

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Frequently asked questions

What do Dext and FreshBooks have in common?
Both cover accounting & bookkeeping.
Which is cheaper, Dext or FreshBooks?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Dext right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.

Related comparisons