Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

FreshBooks vs Square Invoices

FreshBooks

Cloud accounting and invoicing for freelancers and small businesses

From$23/mo
LiteVerified Sep 26, 2026
Square Invoices

Simple invoicing and online payments from Square

Check price on vendor site

How they differ

FeatureFreshBooksSquare Invoices
Entry price$23/moLiteCheck price on vendor site
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialYesNot stated
Invoicing & payments
Accounting & bookkeeping—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers

We don't have a verified price for both FreshBooks and Square Invoices yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • 30-day free trial with no credit card required
  • Three published monthly tiers, from Lite to Premium
  • Promotional discounted pricing available for new subscribers

Drawbacks

  • Regular (non-promotional) pricing is noticeably higher than the introductory rate
  • Top Select tier is custom/quote-only

Square Invoices

Strengths

  • Simple to set up without a broader field service platform
  • Backed by Square's established payment processing network
  • Works well alongside other Square hardware and software a business may already use

Drawbacks

  • No confirmed affiliate program for this kit
  • Less job-tracking and scheduling depth than dedicated field service tools

Frequently asked questions

What do FreshBooks and Square Invoices have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Which is cheaper, FreshBooks or Square Invoices?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Square Invoices right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.

Related comparisons