Homebase vs Rippling
Homebase
Team scheduling, time tracking, and payroll for hourly teams
From$30/mo
EssentialsVerified Sep 26, 2026
Rippling
Payroll, HR, and IT management in one modular platform
How they differ
| Feature | Homebase | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $30/moEssentials | Check price on vendor site |
| Free plan | Yes | Not stated |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated |
| Payroll | ||
| Field team management | — | |
| Staff scheduling | — | |
| Suits | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers |
We don't have a verified price for both Homebase and Rippling yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.
Homebase
Strengths
- Free plan covers a single location with up to 10 employees
- Scheduling, time tracking, and payroll add-on live in one app
- 14-day free trial of the top All-in-One plan
Drawbacks
- Paid plans are priced per location per month, which adds up for multi-location owners
- Payroll is a separate add-on with its own per-employee fee, not bundled into the base plans
Rippling
Strengths
- Modular pricing lets a business buy only the modules it needs
- Combines payroll and HR with IT device management in one platform
- Scales well from a handful of employees to a larger, multi-department business
Drawbacks
- No public pricing; requires a custom quote
- Can be more platform than a small trades business needs at first
Frequently asked questions
What do Homebase and Rippling have in common?
Both cover payroll.
Which is cheaper, Homebase or Rippling?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Rippling right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.