Housecall Pro vs Square
Housecall Pro
All-in-one scheduling, quoting, and invoicing for home service crews
Kitfinch pick for 4 jobs across 5 trades.
From$59/mo
BasicVerified Sep 24, 2026
Square
Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services
From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026
How they differ
| Feature | Housecall Pro | Square |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $59/moBasic | $0/moFree |
| Free plan | Not stated | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Scheduling & dispatch | — | |
| Estimates & quotes | — | |
| Invoicing & payments | ||
| CRM & customer records | — | |
| Point of sale | — | |
| Suits | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers | restaurants, salons & spas |
Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.
Housecall Pro
Strengths
- Purpose-built for home service trades with ready-made job templates
- Combines dispatch, quoting, and payments in one mobile app
- Strong online booking widget for the company website
Drawbacks
- Add-ons like payroll and marketing raise the effective monthly cost
- Per-user pricing on higher tiers adds up for larger crews
Square
Strengths
- Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
- Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
- Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features
Drawbacks
- Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
- Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume
Frequently asked questions
What do Housecall Pro and Square have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Is Housecall Pro cheaper than Square?
On entry plans for one user, Housecall Pro costs $59 a month and Square $0, so Square is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.