Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

Melio vs Square

Melio

Free ACH bill pay and vendor payments for small businesses

Check price on vendor site
Square

Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services

From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026

How they differ

FeatureMelioSquare
Entry priceCheck price on vendor site$0/moFree
Free planYesYes
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Invoicing & payments
Point of sale—
Suitsplumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapersrestaurants, salons & spas

We don't have a verified price for both Melio and Square yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

Melio

Strengths

  • Free ACH bank transfer payments to vendors
  • Syncs payment records into QuickBooks and Xero
  • Card payments available for vendors who don't accept ACH

Drawbacks

  • Exact plan names and tier pricing were unclear on the current pricing page
  • Card payments carry a processing fee on top of the free ACH option

Square

Strengths

  • Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
  • Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
  • Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features

Drawbacks

  • Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
  • Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume

Frequently asked questions

What do Melio and Square have in common?
Both cover invoicing & payments.
Which is cheaper, Melio or Square?
We can only answer that with prices verified on both vendors' pricing pages, and we don't have that for Melio right now. Check the vendor sites for current prices.

Related comparisons