Quo (formerly OpenPhone) vs RingCentral
Quo (formerly OpenPhone)
Simple business phone numbers with shared inboxes for small teams
From$15/user/mo
Starter (annual)Verified Sep 24, 2026
RingCentral
Unified communications platform with phone, video, and messaging
From$20/user/mo
Core (annual)Verified Sep 24, 2026
How they differ
| Feature | Quo (formerly OpenPhone) | RingCentral |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $15/user/moStarter (annual) | $20/user/moCore (annual) |
| Free plan | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Phone & answering | ||
| Suits | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers | plumbers, HVAC companies, electricians, roofers, landscapers |
Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.
Quo (formerly OpenPhone)
Strengths
- Shared inbox lets any team member handle a text or call thread
- Straightforward per-user pricing without long contracts
- Annual billing meaningfully lowers the per-user rate
Drawbacks
- Fewer call-routing and IVR features than dedicated business phone systems
- Top Scale tier is needed for higher-volume features
RingCentral
Strengths
- Established, enterprise-grade reliability for business phone service
- Video meetings and team messaging included alongside calling
- Wide range of desk phone and headset hardware compatibility
Drawbacks
- No confirmed affiliate or referral program for this kit
- Feature set can be more than a small trades business needs
Frequently asked questions
What do Quo (formerly OpenPhone) and RingCentral have in common?
Both cover phone & answering.
Is Quo (formerly OpenPhone) cheaper than RingCentral?
On entry plans for one user, Quo (formerly OpenPhone) costs $15 a month and RingCentral $20, so Quo (formerly OpenPhone) is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.