Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

SpotOn vs Toast

SpotOn

Restaurant POS and payments with usage-based software pricing

Check price on vendor site
Toast

Restaurant point-of-sale platform with online ordering and staff tools

Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.

Check price on vendor site

How they differ

FeatureSpotOnToast
Entry priceCheck price on vendor siteCheck price on vendor site
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Point of sale
Online ordering
Staff scheduling—
Suitsrestaurantsrestaurants

We don't have a verified price for both SpotOn and Toast yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

SpotOn

Strengths

  • Restaurant-specific POS with online ordering and reporting built in
  • Discounted hardware bundle pricing shown directly on the pricing page
  • Software pricing formula is published rather than fully quote-gated

Drawbacks

  • Software cost is a percentage-of-volume formula (capped), not a flat monthly plan price, which makes it hard to compare directly to flat-fee competitors
  • Hardware is sold as a separate line item on top of the software fee

Toast

Strengths

  • Deep restaurant-specific POS feature set (menus, modifiers, kitchen display)
  • Online ordering and payroll add-ons available inside the same ecosystem
  • Wide adoption gives it a large support and integration network

Drawbacks

  • Pricing page returned a bot-protection response this session; current plan pricing was not verified directly
  • Hardware and processing costs are often bundled with software plans, complicating like-for-like comparisons

The full comparison

Verdict

Toast is our pick for a restaurant that wants POS, online ordering, and payroll or scheduling add-ons in one widely deployed ecosystem. SpotOn fits a restaurant that wants a lower-upfront-cost hardware bundle and commission-free first-party ordering without payroll tools attached. For a table-service-focused alternative to either, see Toast vs TouchBistro.

SpotOn vs Toast at a glance

SpotOn Toast
Core plans All-in bundle, month-to-month plan, custom build Starter hardware kit, software-only plan, full custom build
Online ordering SpotOn Order, commission-free first-party ordering Online ordering included, positioned as commission-free revenue
Hardware Station and handheld devices, discounted options shown on-site Configurable hardware or a bundled starter kit at no upfront cost
Staff scheduling Not a named feature on the restaurant page Available as an add-on, paired with a payroll bundle
Offline mode Automatically kicks in when internet drops Continues orders, tickets, and card payments when offline
Reporting Dynamic sales reporting plus an AI menu assistant Sales, menu, and labor insights through a built-in AI assistant

Choose SpotOn if

  • You want a plan that bundles hardware into your processing rate to cut upfront cost.

  • Commission-free first-party online ordering matters more than a large third-party integration list.

  • You want dynamic sales reporting and an AI menu assistant without a payroll add-on.

Choose Toast if

  • You want employee scheduling and integrated payroll available in the same ecosystem as your POS.

  • Wide adoption and a large partner-integration network matter for your restaurant's tech stack.

  • A starter hardware kit with no upfront hardware cost would help a new single-location restaurant launch faster.

Key differences

Plan structure

SpotOn's restaurant plans include an all-in option that folds hardware and software into the processing rate under a longer minimum term, and a month-to-month plan with its own processing rate for an owner who wants more flexibility, plus custom pricing for multi-unit operations.

Toast structures its plans around a starter hardware kit aimed at a single-location restaurant with one or two terminals, a software-only subscription where you choose your own hardware, and a fully custom build for a restaurant that wants the whole platform.

Online ordering

SpotOn Order is described as a commission-free first-party ordering system, positioned against third-party marketplaces that typically charge higher commissions on each order.

Toast lists online ordering as a way to add a revenue stream without a commission, built into the same platform as its POS, kitchen display, and marketing tools.

Add-on ecosystem

SpotOn's restaurant page centers on point-of-sale, table and offline management, and reporting, without naming payroll or staff-scheduling tools as part of its core restaurant offering.

Toast's fuller build adds perpetual inventory management, integrated payroll and tips, employee scheduling, and guest marketing, loyalty, and gift cards, plus a dedicated bundle that pairs POS with payroll.

Hardware and offline reliability

SpotOn offers its own station and handheld hardware, with discounted equipment pricing shown directly on its site alongside financing options.

Toast lets a restaurant choose configurable hardware on its software-only plan or start with a bundled kit, and both vendors' offline modes let staff keep taking orders, printing tickets, and processing card payments when the internet drops.

Which trades each suits

A single-location restaurant or food truck that wants a lower-upfront-cost hardware bundle and commission-free ordering without payroll tools attached tends to fit SpotOn's plans well. A quick-service or full-service restaurant that wants payroll, employee scheduling, and inventory management alongside a widely deployed POS, or that is opening its first location and wants a bundled starter kit, tends to get more from Toast. Both cover the point of sale and online ordering tasks a restaurant runs every shift; the choice mostly comes down to whether staff management belongs in the same subscription as the register.

Switching between them

Neither SpotOn's nor Toast's public help content reviewed for this page documents a direct, vendor-published import tool for moving menu items, historical sales data, or loyalty records between the two systems. Both vendors instead point new customers toward their own onboarding and setup process rather than a cross-platform migration path.

A restaurant switching between them should plan to rebuild its menu and modifier structure on the new system and export what sales and customer data its current POS allows before canceling service.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between SpotOn and Toast?
SpotOn offers an all-in plan that bundles hardware into its processing rate to cut upfront cost, plus a month-to-month plan with its own processing rate. Toast runs a starter kit with bundled hardware, a standalone software subscription with your own hardware, and a fully custom build with payroll, scheduling, and inventory add-ons.
Which restaurant POS is easier to compare on price?
SpotOn publishes named plans and a commission-free first-party ordering tool directly on its site, which makes early cost estimates easier. Toast also publishes named starting plans, including a bundled hardware kit and a separate payroll bundle, though its full custom build requires a quote once add-ons like inventory and scheduling are chosen.
Does Toast include staff scheduling?
Yes, Toast's fuller plan lists employee scheduling and integrated payroll among its available add-ons, alongside inventory management and guest marketing tools. SpotOn's restaurant page centers on point-of-sale, table management, and commission-free online ordering, without listing staff scheduling as a named feature.
Which is a better fit for a growing restaurant that wants more than just POS?
Toast's fuller build extends into payroll, employee scheduling, inventory management, and guest loyalty tools within one ecosystem, which suits a restaurant managing a larger hourly staff. SpotOn covers point-of-sale and commission-free ordering with published starter and month-to-month plans, appealing to an owner who wants cost transparency without a payroll add-on.

Sources we checked

Every feature and policy on this page comes from these vendor or government pages, last checked Sep 26, 2026. See how we review.

  1. spoton.com — spoton.com/restaurants/
  2. pos.toasttab.com — pos.toasttab.com/
  3. spoton.com — spoton.com/pricing/
  4. pos.toasttab.com — pos.toasttab.com/pricing

Cite this page

Amine from KitFinch. “SpotOn vs Toast.” Kitfinch, updated Sep 26, 2026. https://kitfinch.com/compare/spoton-vs-toast

Plain-text version for AI assistants: /compare/spoton-vs-toast.md

Related comparisons