Skip to content
Prices last checked Sep 26, 2026
Kitfinch
Best software forPlumbersHVAC companiesElectriciansRoofersLandscapersDentistsSalons & spasRestaurants

Toast vs TouchBistro

Toast

Restaurant point-of-sale platform with online ordering and staff tools

Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.

Check price on vendor site
TouchBistro

iPad-based restaurant POS with reservations and online ordering add-ons

From$69/mo
Point of SaleVerified Sep 25, 2026

How they differ

FeatureToastTouchBistro
Entry priceCheck price on vendor site$69/moPoint of Sale
Free planNot statedNot stated
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Point of sale
Reservations & waitlist—
Online ordering
Staff scheduling—
Suitsrestaurantsrestaurants

We don't have a verified price for both Toast and TouchBistro yet, so we can't chart the cost by team size. Check each vendor's pricing page.

Toast

Strengths

  • Deep restaurant-specific POS feature set (menus, modifiers, kitchen display)
  • Online ordering and payroll add-ons available inside the same ecosystem
  • Wide adoption gives it a large support and integration network

Drawbacks

  • Pricing page returned a bot-protection response this session; current plan pricing was not verified directly
  • Hardware and processing costs are often bundled with software plans, complicating like-for-like comparisons

TouchBistro

Strengths

  • Runs on familiar iPad hardware, which can lower up-front hardware cost
  • Full POS feature set (tableside ordering, floor plan, staff management) included at the starting price, no feature gating
  • Reservations and online ordering available as companion products in the same family

Drawbacks

  • The starting price is for the core POS bundle only; reservations and online ordering are typically separate add-on products
  • Best fit for table-service restaurants, less commonly used for quick-service

The full comparison

Verdict

Toast is our pick for a restaurant that wants payroll and employee-scheduling tools alongside a widely deployed POS with a large partner-integration network. TouchBistro fits a table-service restaurant that wants iPad-based hardware and flat-fee reservations with unlimited bookings as a companion product. For a lower-upfront-cost alternative to Toast, see SpotOn vs Toast.

Toast vs TouchBistro at a glance

Toast TouchBistro
Hardware Configurable hardware or a bundled starter kit Runs on iPad hardware
Core plans Starter kit, software-only, full custom build Core POS plus add-on products like Reservations
Reservations Not a named core feature TouchBistro Reservations, flat monthly fee, unlimited bookings
Staff tools Payroll and scheduling available as add-ons Staff activity tracking and labor-cost tools built in
Offline mode Continues orders, tickets, and payments offline Not detailed on the reviewed page
Integrations 300+ partner integrations listed Not detailed on the reviewed page

Choose Toast if

  • You want payroll and employee-scheduling add-ons in the same ecosystem as your POS.

  • A large partner-integration network and a bundled starter hardware kit matter for a new location.

  • You run quick-service or full-service dining and want one broad platform to grow into.

Choose TouchBistro if

  • You run a table-service restaurant and want real-time table status and reservation notes on regulars.

  • Familiar iPad hardware appeals to you for lowering up-front equipment cost.

  • You want reservations billed as a flat monthly fee with unlimited bookings instead of a per-cover charge.

Key differences

Hardware approach

Toast lets a restaurant configure its own hardware on the software-only plan or start with a bundled kit that includes one terminal at no upfront cost.

TouchBistro runs on iPad-based hardware built for restaurant durability, which can lower up-front equipment cost compared with proprietary POS terminals.

Reservations and table management

TouchBistro Reservations accepts bookings through a restaurant's own website, TouchBistro's booking site, and Google, with real-time table-status tracking and two-way SMS and email reminders to cut no-shows; it is billed as a flat monthly fee with unlimited bookings rather than a per-cover charge, sold as a companion product alongside the core POS.

Toast's reviewed pages do not list a dedicated reservations product; its POS instead centers on order-taking, kitchen display, and payment flow, with guest marketing and loyalty tools available as add-ons.

Staff and payroll tools

Toast's fuller build adds integrated payroll and tips, employee scheduling, and a dedicated bundle that pairs POS with payroll for a restaurant managing a larger hourly staff.

TouchBistro's core POS includes staff-activity tracking and labor-cost optimization tools, but the reviewed pages do not describe a full payroll product comparable to Toast's payroll bundle.

Ecosystem and integrations

Toast lists more than 300 partner integrations and a kitchen display system that consolidates orders from every channel, positioning itself as a hub for a restaurant's broader tech stack.

TouchBistro's reviewed pages emphasize its own reporting suite, with more than fifty built-in reports on sales trends and staff performance, rather than a large public third-party integration count.

Which trades each suits

A quick-service or growing full-service restaurant that wants payroll, scheduling, and a large integration network in one ecosystem tends to fit Toast well, especially a new location that wants a bundled starter hardware kit. A table-service restaurant that wants iPad-based hardware, detailed table-status tracking, and flat-fee reservations with unlimited bookings tends to get more from TouchBistro. Both cover the point of sale and online ordering tasks a restaurant runs every shift; the choice often comes down to whether payroll belongs in the same subscription or reservations matter more than staff-management add-ons.

Switching between them

Neither Toast's nor TouchBistro's public help content reviewed for this page documents a direct, vendor-published tool for migrating menu items, historical sales, or reservation history between the two systems. Both point new customers toward their own setup and onboarding process rather than a cross-platform import path.

A restaurant switching between them should plan to rebuild its menu and modifier structure on the new POS and export what sales and reservation data its current system allows before canceling service.

Frequently asked questions

What is the main difference between Toast and TouchBistro?
Toast offers configurable or bundled hardware and adds payroll, scheduling, and inventory tools within its ecosystem, alongside a starter kit aimed at new single-location restaurants. TouchBistro runs on iPad hardware and sells reservations as a flat-monthly-fee companion product with unlimited bookings, rather than folding it into a single starting price.
Is TouchBistro cheaper than Toast because it uses iPads?
Running on iPad hardware can lower a restaurant's up-front equipment cost compared with proprietary terminals, but Toast also offers a starter kit with hardware bundled at no upfront cost on its entry plan. A direct comparison depends on which plan and hardware configuration each restaurant chooses, shown in the pricing table on this page.
Does TouchBistro handle table reservations?
Yes, TouchBistro Reservations lets guests book through a restaurant's website, TouchBistro's own booking site, and Google, with real-time table tracking and two-way SMS reminders. It is sold as a flat-monthly-fee companion product alongside the core POS rather than bundled into the POS starting price.
Which is better for a full-service, table-service restaurant?
TouchBistro was built around table-service features like real-time table status and reservation notes for regulars, with reservations available as an add-on. Toast serves table-service and quick-service restaurants broadly and adds payroll and employee-scheduling tools, which can matter more for a restaurant managing a larger hourly staff across shifts.

Sources we checked

Every feature and policy on this page comes from these vendor or government pages, last checked Sep 26, 2026. See how we review.

  1. pos.toasttab.com — pos.toasttab.com/
  2. touchbistro.com — touchbistro.com/pos/
  3. pos.toasttab.com — pos.toasttab.com/pricing
  4. touchbistro.com — touchbistro.com/reservations/

Cite this page

Amine from KitFinch. “Toast vs TouchBistro.” Kitfinch, updated Sep 26, 2026. https://kitfinch.com/compare/toast-vs-touchbistro

Plain-text version for AI assistants: /compare/toast-vs-touchbistro.md

Related comparisons