GlossGenius vs Square
GlossGenius
Simple booking, POS, and payments built for independent beauty pros
Kitfinch pick for 1 job across 1 trade.
From$24/mo
StandardVerified Sep 25, 2026
Square
Point of sale and payment processing for restaurants, retail, and services
From$0/mo
FreeVerified Sep 26, 2026
How they differ
| Feature | GlossGenius | Square |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $24/moStandard | $0/moFree |
| Free plan | Not stated | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Invoicing & payments | — | |
| Patient & client reminders | — | |
| Online booking | — | |
| Point of sale | ||
| Suits | salons & spas | restaurants, salons & spas |
Users on the horizontal axis. Entry plans only, from verified prices; yearly prices divided by 12; vendor minimums applied. Taxes and add-ons excluded.
GlossGenius
Strengths
- Simple flat subscription pricing plus a flat 2.6% payment-processing rate
- Popular with solo stylists and small independent salon teams
- Fast setup for booking, POS, and payments in one app
Drawbacks
- Fewer multi-location and enterprise-reporting features than Boulevard or Mindbody
- Add-on seats increase the effective monthly cost for teams
Square
Strengths
- Free plan with no monthly fee; only pay processing fees per transaction
- Works across restaurants, retail, and appointment-based services
- Paid Plus and Premium tiers add more advanced features
Drawbacks
- Exact Plus/Premium subscription prices and processing rates are not published as static text (the pricing page loads them dynamically)
- Custom pricing (Square Pro) only kicks in above $250,000 in annual processing volume
Frequently asked questions
What do GlossGenius and Square have in common?
Both cover point of sale.
Is GlossGenius cheaper than Square?
On entry plans for one user, GlossGenius costs $24 a month and Square $0, so Square is cheaper to start. The gap changes with team size and billing terms; see the chart above.